Friday, July 10, 2009

ooo paprika

my dad told me i should get a side job as a restaurant critic for a magazine... i said non possible. annie told me i should turn my gchat statuses into a blog. so, i'm starting a blog- ok, duh.

i like to eat. i really like to go out to eat. and i'm nearly compulsively obsessed with trying new restaurants. probably one of my most commonly used statements is ''let's go somewhere NEW''. that's how i like to live my life, and it's quiet an easy way to live in ny, with sooo many places to try. i'll never accomplish one of my life goals of trying every worthwhile restaurant in the city. so for now, i'd like to try every place in the east village-- who knows how long that will take....

this brings me to my dinner tonight. paprika on st. marks. fantastic value and fantasticer food. i admit, i was there for the early bird special, but hey i was with my dad- who was also the one footing the bill. still, the menu is very reasonable, but most certainly worth it to get there before 7 for the 15 dollar prix-fixe-- app plus entree. i had the arugula salad with goat cheese- who doesn't like goat cheese-, walnuts and pears. i should have asked for the dressing on the side-- it was a bit too much oil for my tastes, though it was good oil, i'm just not an oil type of girl. i feel it coating my arteries. yuck. but it tasted good, so i'm putting that thought to the side. for my main course, i had the gnocchi with mozzarella cheese. i LOVE gnocchi. really really do- and this was no exception. good amount of red sauce, and the mozzarella was really fresh. could have been from italy by my taste buds. for desert - because it's not really a meal if you skip desert- i had lemon sorbet, you know, the kind that comes in the lemon peel. it brought me back to my childhood days. i don't know if they made it themselves, it was pretty standard. good way to end the meal though. oo, and i cannot forget the delish olives they brought while we were ordering. i'm truly a sucker for kalamata olives, so you can imagine my excitement when there were 20 sitting in front of me. too bad i had to share with dad. they were mixed in with sundried tomatoes, another fave. really good, and probably the reason why i had enough gnocchi to take home to eat tomorrow- coupled with the bread and olive oil of course.

No comments:

Post a Comment